The Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) has appointed Philippine Sports commissioner Mon Fernandez as the country’s Chef De Mission in the 31st Southeast Asian Games that Vietnam is hosting late this year.

POC president Bambol Tolentino made this announcement Tuesday during the first Executive Board meeting since his reelection last November.

“We want to give it back to the Philippine Sports Commission as a constant partner. (PSC) chairman Butch Ramirez was the last Chef De Mission, so why not give it to one of its commissioners,” Tolentino said.

Fernandez has yet to be officially notified of his appointment by the POC but thanked the Olympic body for the trust given to him as the country faces the tough task of defending its overall championship in the biennial meet.

At the 2019 edition that the country hosted, PH athletes reaped 149 gold, 117 silver and 121 bronze medals in 56 sports.

The athletes are in for a busy year in sports with several high profile tournaments lined up including the 2021 Tokyo Olympics, but the SEAG will also be a priority.

Read: Bambol readies for busy sports calendar next year

Meanwhile, Atty. Edwin Gastanes retained his post as POC secretary general while Carl Sambrano was appointed Deputy Secretary General for Administration.

Karen Caballero will be Deputy Secretary General for National Sports Association (NSA) Affairs, Government and Athletes’ Affairs, and Valeriano Floro as Deputy Secretary General for International Affairs.

Other appointees are Ormoc City Mayor Richard Gomez as chairman of Constitution and Bylaws Revision Commission with Atty. Alberto Agra, Marcus Antonio Andaya and Atty. Avelino Sumagui as members; and Atty. Wharton Chan as chairman and chief legal counsel of the Legal Affairs Commission with Sumagui as member.

Atty. Alberto Agra is also chairman of Arbitration Commission along with members Epok Quimpo and Celso Dayrit; Pato Gregorio as chairman of Ethics Commission with members Ernesto Echauz and Gerry Alquiros; Al Panlilio as chairman of Ways and Means Commission along with members Sen. Juan Miguel Zubiri and Sen. Francis Tolentino; Tom Carrasco as chairman of Technical Commission along with members Alvin Aguilar and Roland Llamas; and Bong Coo as chairwoman of Women in Sports Commission along with members Akiko Thomson-Guevara and Marilee Estampador.

Source: Manila Bulletin (